

Cosponsor Support H.R. 1964 - Conservation Easement Incentive Act January 13, 2012

The undersigned signatories of the California Rangeland Conservation Coalition would like to take this opportunity to express our support for you cosponsoring Congressman Thompson's and Congressman Gerlach's Conservation Easement Incentive Act (H.R. 1964). H.R. 1964 will make permanent the 2006 enhanced tax deduction for donations of conservation easements that expired at the end of 2011.

The California Rangeland Conservation Coalition is an unprecedented group of California ranchers, researchers, environmental organizations and government agencies. Together, the signatories are working to preserve private working landscapes, support the long-term viability of the ranching industry, and protect and enhance California rangeland for both legally protected and still-common species. This unique partnership encompasses the expertise of rangeland managers, ecologists and grassland wildlife experts who see donated easements as one tool available to assist us in reaching our strategic goals.

Voluntary conservation easements are an important tool for keeping land in ranching and protecting natural resources for future generations. We support the voluntary nature of these projects and believe the decision to enter into an easement requires significant planning on the part of the ranchers who own the land. However, there is tremendous value for H.R. 1964 to maintain open spaces, support the economic and social fabric of the ranching industry and rural communities, and provide habitat for plants, fish and wildlife.

Again, the undersigned California Rangeland Conservation Coalition signatories ask you to cosponsor of H.R. 1964. Please contact Lori Prater (5-4315) in Rep. Gerlach's office or Carla McGarvey (5-3311) in Rep. Thompson's office to become a cosponsor.

Sincerely,

Signatories of the California Rangeland Conservation Coalition

Kevin Kester

President California Cattlemen's Association Mark Kramer

Mark S. Kra

Director, Federal Government Relations California Chapter, The Nature Conservancy Bendiamy

Belinda Morris

Regional Director, Center for

Conservation Incentives

Environmental Defense Fund

Nita Vail

Nita Vaii Executive Director

California Rangeland Trust

Marin miny

Darla Guenzler Executive Director

California Council of Land Trusts

Bob Hammond

Lands Program Manager

Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation

John Sterling

President

Central Valley Bird Club

Jude Lamare

President

Friends of Swainson's Hawk

Nicole Byrd

Executive Director

Nicole Byrd

Solano Land Trust

Michael Post

Board Chair

Chimineas Ranch Foundation

)QL

Josh Rolph

Director, National Affairs

California Farm Bureau Federation

Leda Huta

Leda Huta

Executive Director

Endangered Species Coalition

Danie Tay 2

Dan Taylor

Executive Director

Audubon California

Michael A. Gatzman

Executive Officer

Alameda County Resource Conservation District

Patti Lurner

Patti Turner

District Manager

Colusa County Resource Conservation District

Bill Gaines

President

California Outdoor Heritage Alliance

Ed Pandolfino, Ph.D.

Chair, Placer County Conservation Committee

Sierra Foothills Audubon Society

Ellie Cohen

President and CEO

PRBO Conservation Science

Lakes Bruen.

Robert Berner Executive Director Marin Agricultural Land Trust

John Hopkins President

Institute for Ecological Health

Lesa Carlton
Executive Director

California Wool Growers

Association

Forrest Mertens

Chief Executive Officer

SunOne Solutions

Tara Hansen

Executive Director

California Native Plant Society

Smutte Defield- Jewis

Jeannette Tuitele-Lewis

Executive Director

Sierra Foothill Conservancy

Michael Feeney

Executive Director

Land Trust for Santa Barbara County

Kerry O'Toole

President

American Land Conservancy

Chorles (Joby) DASA

Toby Horst Representative

Sierra Resource Conservation District

Kim Delfino

California Program Director

Defenders of Wildlife

Aimee Rutledge

/limas 15-8

Executive Director

Sacramento Valley Conservancy

Jim Hanson

President, Board of Directors

The California Native Grasslands Association

Joe Ciolek

Executive Director

Agricultural-Natural Resources Trust of Contra

Costa County

Janet Santos Cobb

Executive Officer

California Wildlife Foundation/California Oaks

Phil Schoefer

President, Board of Directors

Western Shasta Resource Conservation District

Melanie R. Fowle

Melanie Fowle

President

California CattleWomen's Association

El Vil

Erik Vink Central Valley Program Director Trust for Public Land

KillyHillen

Kelly Miller
District Manager

Steven R. Frisch

Sierra Business Council

Butte County Resource Conservation District

Carol Witham VernalPools.Org

Ashley Boren
Executive Director
Sustainable Conservation

Doug Johnson Executive Director

Steve Frisch President

California Invasive Plant Council

Kent Carter Founder

Carter Ecosystem Services

W. Kent Carton III

Darla Guenzler Executive Director

California Council of Land Trusts